Squash County Cup Finals

Squash County Cup Finals

Sport June 17, 2014
Squash County Cup Finals



Last month saw Southwell Squash Club’s Team 1 convincingly beat Chilwell 1 to win the Mens B Nottinghamshire County Cup.

The team only dropped one game of the five matches played, clearly demonstrating why they have been promoted to the first division.  The team on the day was: Kev Emery, winning 3-0; Eddie Lager, winning 3-0 ; Tom Burrows at 3-0; Paul Breffitt, winning 3-0 and Richard Wilson, winning 3-1. The other two players in the team that didn’t play are: Nicky Palin and Dave Pogmore.

Southwell 3, comprising Gerry Burrows, Howard Yeomam, Pete Smith, Paul Best, Grant Marshall and Bryan Pearson also won division 5 of the Nottinghamshire Squash League.

May also saw the Squash Club’s annual competitions finals evening. The final took place at Southwell Leisure Centre the clubs home venue. There were four titles up for grabs that evening and the winners were as follows:

The Plate: Rob Gaskil, John Cotten runner up. The Super Vets: Peter Lenard-Jones. The Vets: Richard Wilson. The Cedric Best Trophy: Eddie Lager.