Minster Pupils succeeding Together

Minster Pupils succeeding Together

News October 4, 2017
Minster Pupils succeeding Together

Students past and present attended the annual Prizegiving ceremony at the Minster School in Southwell last month.

A welcome from Mr Turner the Chairman of Governors was followed by a report of the school year from Headteacher Mr Matthew Parris with stories of successes, challenges and student pursuits beyond the classroom.

Mr Parris said: “It is a pleasure to address our guests this evening at our annual prize-giving event, in particular the students who have worked so hard to achieve such outstanding outcomes.

“Our evening not only celebrates academic achievement but also students’ wider contributions to school and community. Many have overcome significant challenges to achieve their goals, working not only for themselves but also very much to support others.

“This academic year we have introduced a new school motto, Succeeding Together. At The Minster School every success is a collaborative effort between students, families and members of staff. I take this opportunity to congratulate students and also to thank families and staff for their efforts.”

The Presentation of Prizes and Awards was made by Vice Lord-Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire – Colonel Tim Richmond OBE TD DL. Tim is a Chartered Accountant. In the public and voluntary sectors he is currently Chair of Futures providing advice and services to young people, careers advice, work experience and apprenticeship opportunities.

Guests were entertained by performances from students Imogen and Scarlett Clemmow, Eleanor Couch and Isaac Savage.

Full list of Prizewinners:

THE Starkey Scholarship & The Starkey Prize Gemma Lannon, Nowell Phelps; Head Girl Prize Ella Annable, Head Boy Prize Toby Hyde-Barker; The Personal Endeavour Prize, Annie Mae Wright and Eleanor Alford; The Dudley Doy Prize, Nowell Phelps and Gemma Lannon; The John F. Roach Scholar- ship, Nowell Phelps; The Bertha M. A. Roach Scholarship, Gemma Lannon; The Canon Glaister Prizes – English Language Ruby Codd, English Lit- erature Mia Oldham, History Harriet Brown; The Wright Classical Shake- speare Prize, Amber Burbidge; The Archdeacon Conybeare Prize, Olivia Bacon; The Neville Metcalfe Prize, Isaac Savage; The Broadberry Prize, Nowell Phelps; The Lady Robinson Prizes – Biology Natalie King, Chemis- try Nowell Phelps, German Maria Dunk- ley, French Katie Attenborough, Geography Philippa Birch; Business Studies Endeavour Award, Liam Hassell; The Prize for Technology, Ruby Codd; The Prize for Computing, Alastair Flynn; The Prize for Economics, Jonathan Harget; The Prize for Spanish, Jessica Tomlinson; The Prize for Media Stud- ies, Ruby Codd; The Summers Bequest, Toby Hyde-Barker; The Clay Dove Prize, Olivia Bacon; The Charlotte Brock Prize, Elysia Dalton; The Hugh & Marion Heywood Prize, Sophie Hill; The Hugh Graham Walker Prize, Isi-Marie Smith; The Bristow Prize, George Cashell; The Business Studies Prize, Isabel Sharratt; The Andy Clarke Prize, Oliver Bentley.

The Basil Rushby Smith Prize Bequest: Senior School, James Murray; Lower School, Liza Ivanova; BTEC, GCSE or A Level, Oliver Wells; Grant, Lois Derbyshire. The John Sides Prize, Eleanor Couch; The Food Science Prize, Claudia Bowring; The British Government & Politics Prize A-level, Natasha Jones; The Dakin Prize, Thomas Preece; The Psychology Prize, Elle Kavanagh; The David Leaning Prize, Nowell Phelps; The Dean’s Head Chorister Prize, Ethan Wood; The Margaret Galloway Prize, Kate Busby and Ffion Roberts; The Carby Prize, Jack Baum; The Michael Paris Prize for Enterprise, Rebecca Pritchett; The Eric Roberts Prize, Myles Indovino.

Eleventh Year Prizes: Rebecca Austin, Sophie Baker, Eleanor Bernhofs, Wil- liam Burnett-Boothroyd, Harry Burn- ham, Jake Crone, Oliver Thurlow, Daisy O’Flanagan.

Alec Cobbin Prizes: Clumber – Ei Lwin, Hannah Gardner, Millie Tavernor, Arthur Janes, Dominic Bird, Isabelle Shakespeare, Eleanor Couch, Emily Woodward; Rufford – Zoe Bray, Emma Smith, Ella Spencer, Ben Fitzsim- mons, Benjamin Arnold, Patrick Wal- dron-Lynch, Mia France, Anna King; Thoresby – Emma Pattison, Daniel Win- terbottom, Annabelle Greene, Isabelle Wray, Chloe Hempsall, George Aspinall, Laura Burles, Esther Murray; Welbeck – Isabelle Case, Ryder Wyatt, Grace Miller, Nathan Stocks, Nikki Unwin, Jack Baum, Bethany Carter, Edward Sharpe.

Philip Wood Trophy, Eleanor Couch; Junior School, Tobias Onslow; The Ter- ence Gill Prize for Woodwind, Rebecca Stevens; The Wilson Cup for Music, Matthew Durnin.

The George Whitaker Prizes: Main School, George Parris; Junior School, Louis Zhu; The Harrison Cup for Hockey, Harry Lane and Tobias Stan- ley; The Tom Scott Prize, Lucy Evison and Betsey Bircumshaw; Hilary Quinn Trophy, Matthew Collins; Henry Howard Trophy, Gabriella Sheard; Cit- izenship Award, Sikander Khan; The Peter Legge Memorial Prize, Thomas Dineen; Elizabeth Nall Music Trophies: Main School Betsey Bircumshaw; The Harrison Cup for Rugby, Benjamin Jackson.

Junior School: Year 6 Josephine Liu, Year 5 Ling Ling Law, Year 4 Lydia Tank, Year 3 Poppy Lathall; The Rose Bowl, Ella Annable; The Old Southwel- lian Cup, Toby Hyde-Barker; The Ste- phen Pulford Trophy for Sport, Laura Burles; The Dudley Doy Trophy for Sport, James McGerity; The Old South- wellian Award for Music, Kate Hodgkinson and Isaac Savage.