Cricket Club Awards

Cricket Club Awards

Sport November 15, 2021
Cricket Club Awards

Promotion for all three adult sides in any sporting season is not an event that happens often in any club. It requires strength of depth, good commitment and stand our performers.

The 2021 season saw all of this come together for Southwell Cricket Club as both Saturday teams and the Sunday team gained promotions in their respective leagues. With the South Notts league being restructured due to the introduction of the Notts Premier League division 2, this year was the perfect opportunity to push higher up the leagues.
The end of September was time to celebrate this success as players, coaches and supporting members gathered at the annual player’s supper – hosted, as always, brilliantly by Rama and his team at the Reindeer, Southwell.

Awards were given to:

1st XI batting award: Joe Fryer (650 runs, average of 54.17, top score 100)
1st XI bowling award: Will Ashworth (28 wickets, average of 18.39, best performance 6/31)
2nd XI batting award: Chris Miller (511 runs, average of 42.58, top score 103*)
2nd XI bowling award: Martin Wagstaff (28 wickets, average of 12.68, best performance 4/17)
Sunday batting award: Dan Stokes (450 runs, average of 64.29, top score 145)
Sunday bowling award: James Grocock (17 wickets, average of 16.59, best performance 4/5)
Young player of the year: Josh Evans
Innings of the season: Dan Stokes (145 vs Ruddington)
Bowling performance of the season: Will Ashworth (8.4 – 1 – 31 – 6 vs Notts Unity)
Fielder of the year: Joe Fryer (16 catches, 9 stumpings)
Club person of the year: Ian Pailing

Congratulations to all the award winners and thank you to everyone who helped out around the club or came along to support over the summer. Our two regular umpires Steve Foster and Roger Greenfield; 1s scorer Phil Clarke; groundsmen Chris Miller and Ian Pailing; Junior coordinator Jo Miller (and all her fantastic Friday night team) and Flower Pod for their excellent work on the pavilion.